This website, which is dedicated to River information Service experts, facilitates access to a knowledge base for inland navigation information technologies.

Since 2009, RIS experts have been involved in the harmonisation of information technologies at the European level as modern traffic management systems allow real-time data exchange between vessels and the shore.

Due to the expansion of CESNI’s activities in the field of information technologies in 2019, the Committee established, a permanent working group on information technologies (CESNI/TI) through its resolution 2018-II-16. The mission of CESNI/TI is specified in the annex to the resolution and the new working group is at the core of CESNI’s activities in the field of information technologies. Accordingly, the CESNI Committee has entrusted its Working group CESNI/TI with the task of gradually integrating the existing RIS expert groups into CESNI's structure and procedures, as well as its work programme for information technologies by 1 January 2020.

On 15 October 2019, the CESNI The CESNI also decided to integrate the existing RIS expert groups in the CESNI’s organisational structure and procedures as four temporary working groups. The integration will ensure the continuation of the RIS expert groups’ work on RIS and the standardisation process, albeit with improved steering and secure secretariatl support.

The technical work towards standardisation of four RIS key- technologies is performed by experts who are assigned to these four temporary Working groups. They produce the standards and updates, but also technical clarification documents, guidelines and other relevant documents on RIS key technologies.

The temporary Working groups are composed of experts with a high level of expertise regarding RIS, and with particular expertise in each of the key technologies,. They are designated by the Members of CESNI, as referred to in Article 2, paragraphs, 1, 2 and 3, a, b, and c of the Rules of Procedure of CESNI.

The work of the temporary Working groups is based on their mandates, specific to each temporary Working group.

There are four temporary working groups, each one being assigned to one of the four RIS key-technologies: